KSD Honors Outstanding Teachers and Support Staff at Each School

2024 Team KSD Award recipients will be celebrated by Northland Chamber

Kearney, Mo., February 23, 2024: It’s time to shine the spotlight on the outstanding members of our Bulldog family!

Kearney School District is thrilled to announce the recipients of the 2024 Team KSD Awards, recognizing 19 exceptional individuals who have demonstrated excellence in their roles.

“These remarkable individuals exemplify the dedication and commitment that define our district’s ethos,” stated Superintendent Emily Miller. “Their contributions are invaluable, and we are proud to honor them for their service to our community.”

The award selection process started in January when KSD invited parents/guardians, staff, students, and community members to nominate deserving candidates for their school’s 2024 Teacher and Support Staff of the Year awards. Eligible nominees in the teacher category included classroom teachers, special needs educators, art and music instructors, guidance counselors, librarians, instructional coaches, and physical education instructors. In the support staff category, nominees could include principals, assistant principals, administrative personnel, food service staff, bus drivers, nurses, custodians, and resource officers.

One certified teacher and one support staff member were selected as this year’s recipients from each school within the district. These individuals embody the core values of KSD, including integrity, respect, future readiness, student focus, and resilience. They serve as role models for our entire community.

2024 School Teacher of the Year Award Recipients

  • Early Education Center – Mary Watkins
  • Dogwood Elementary – Chanda Murphy
  • Hawthorne Elementary – Stacy Sullivan
  • Kearney Elementary – Shannan Ashcroft
  • LENS – Shelly Dunn
  • Southview Elementary – Emilie White
  • Kearney Middle School – Ann Marzette
  • Kearney Junior High – Amy Whitener
  • Kearney High School – Brittini Starzl

2024 School Support Staff of the Year Award Recipients

  • Early Education Center – Wesley Cartwright
  • Dogwood Elementary – Elvia Digirolamo
  • Hawthorne Elementary – Britney Smith
  • Kearney Elementary – Leslie Pilar
  • LENS – Nikki Foote
  • Southview Elementary – Carl Stenger
  • Kearney Middle School – Elvis Rodriguez
  • Kearney Junior High – Kim Goepferich
  • Kearney High School – Hue Marsh
  • KSD Central Office – Rick Davitt

These honorees will be recognized at the Northland Regional Chamber of Commerce’s 2024 Excellence in Education Awards Banquet on May 1. They will also be nominated for our district Teacher of the Year and Support Staff of the Year awards, which will be announced in the spring along with KSD’s 2024 Business of the Year and Volunteer of the Year award recipients.

The district Teacher of the Year Award recipient will be given a $250 cash award and $750 classroom grant from the KSD Education Foundation, which will also give a $250 cash award and $250 classroom grant to the district Support Staff of the Year Award recipient.

All of our school Teacher of the Year and Support Staff of the Year award recipients will be celebrated by the district along with our 2024 retirees during the Team KSD Award and Retiree Recognition in April.