KSD Staff Members Honored at Excellence in Education Awards

This week the Northland Chamber of Commerce presented its annual K-12 education awards at the Excellence in Education banquet. The event was held at the KCI Expo Center. With hundreds in attendance, northland schools gathered together to honor students, teachers, support staff, businesses and volunteers.

Kearney School District nominated 16 exceptional staff members to be recognized at the banquet. This year four of those nominees won awards from the Chamber and were presented the award by Chamber Chairman Sabin Yanez.

Congratulations to all of the KSD Winners and Nominees! Click to see highlights from the event!

The Chamber Award Winners are as follows:

Excellence in Classroom Teaching

  • Amy Beaver – Kearney Elementary
  • Kate Antos – Kearney High School

Excellence in Service to Education

  • Barb Johnson – Hawthorne Elementary
  • Elsie Trost – Kearney Elementary


Once again, here are all the KSD 2015-2016 Nominees:


  • Service- Janelle Nelson
  • Teacher- Sheila Middleton


  • Service- Barb Johnson
  • Teacher- Marci Riley

Kearney Elementary

  • Service- Elsie Trost
  • Teacher- Amy Beaver


  • Service- Pat Dane
  • Teacher- Sherryl McMullin

Middle School

  • Service- Debbie Lance
  • Teacher- Dawn Holt

Junior High School

  • Service- Cathi Bowers
  • Teacher- Eric Todd

High School

  • Service- Owen Iseminger
  • Teacher- Kate Antos

District-wide Personnel

  • Service- Becky Burkemper
  • Teacher- Sara Woods


Here are this year’s 2015-2016 Honorees:

Business Honoree

  • KCB- Dave Hinck

Volunteer Honoree

  • KE- Karen Stevens

Scholarship Recipient

  • KHS Student- Morgan Holloway